Farewell Asia!

So that’s it, the end of my Asian adventure and what a journey it’s been. I’ve had the time of my life and done things that I had only ever dreamt of but it has now sadly all come to an end and it’s now time to move onto New Zealand and make loads of new memories.

Best bits:

  • Successfully travelling Asia on my own for three months (and Daniel)
  • Taj Mahal
  • Elephant Sanctuary
  • Hai Van Pass
  • Ankor Wat
  • Learning to dive in Koh Tao (open and advanced)
  • Seeing Mum in Bali
  • Climbing Mt Batur for sunrise
  • The Gili Isles
  • Meeting so many amazing people that will I will stay in contact with for life
  • The kindness and generosity that has been shown to me by the people in every country I have visited
  • Travelling Asia for 3 months and NOT getting a single sickness bug or bout of food poisoning (go me!)

Worst bits:

  • The journey from Luang Prabang to Vang Vieng
  • 26 hour journey from Laos to Vietnam in what can only be described as the boot of a bus
  • Being well and truly conned at the floating villages in Cambodia
  • Getting lost and having to call mountain rescue in Koh Phangan
  • Daniel getting food poisoning for 5 days

Travel stats:

  • 1 continent, 7 countries
  • 11 planes
  • 2 trains
  • 3 overnight trains
  • 19 day buses/coaches
  • 2 overnight buses
  • 1 motorbike
  • 9 boats

What next?

I’m am currently in New Zealand which is already proving to be incredible, but more on that later – I am here for 6 weeks and then I will be flying over to Australia where I will be staying on my years working visa (if I can get a job!) before finally flying home to the UK! I am still loving every minute of my journey but it has made me realise how lovely my life back in the UK was so I definitely have no plans to move abroad, although I 100% have plans to travel to many other places in the future, just on much shorter time scales!

XXX

2 thoughts on “Farewell Asia!

  1. Pam from Thurs walking group says:

    Hi Natalie. It’s been an absolute pleasure reading all your blogs. Thank you!
    All good wishes on the next leg of your travels. Keep safe and well. Pam

    Liked by 1 person

    • nataliewinn1 says:

      Thank you, that is really kind of you! I’m glad that people are enjoying them.

      Thanks, looking forward to the rest of New Zealand and Australia, I will keep you all updated.

      Hope your well.
      Natalie

      Like

Leave a Reply

