Travel vaccinations

With less than three months to go I decided that it was probably about time that I faced reality and got my vaccinations booked. I booked my first appointment for the 13th January and with the help of my lovely nurse quickly decided what jabs I would be getting.

You don’t need any jabs for New Zealand or Australia so that just left India, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam, Laos and Bali – luckily they all require almost identical vaccinations.

My Vaccinations:
– Hepatitis A
– Hepatitis B
– Typhoid
-Rabies

The Hepatitis A and Typhoid jab was not optional and came as a combined one off injection that was free on the NHS.

The Hepatitis B jab was also not optional and is done in three parts costing £25 a jab – £75 in total. I have had two of mine but will need to have the third whilst I am on the road.

I opted to have the Rabies jab as I have read sooo many blogs where people have been bitten by dogs/monkeys so I didn’t want to take the risk. The jab is done in three parts costing £50 a jab – £150 in total. The second jab is given seven days after the first and the third is given 21 or 28 days after the first.

I could have been vaccinated against Yellow Fever but chose not to as I am not visiting any countries where it is present. I also could have opted to have the Japanese Encephalitis vaccine but chose not to as I didn’t really feel I would need it

 

imagePrices of vaccinations vary depending on where you are going and the surgery/clinic you go to.

Antimalarials

I brought my Malaria tablets over the counter. The advice given to me was that I should start my tablets a few days before entering a country at risk, every day in that country and then a week after I had left the country. At my Drs appointment I was told they only places I would be at risk were Cambodia and Laos.
The route I am taking for this leg of the journey is:

Bangkok → Chiang Mai → Laos → Vietnam→ Cambodia

I will start my tablets in Bangkok and continue to take them throughout Laos, Vietnam and Cambodia. Once I leave Cambodia and re-enter Thailand I will take the tablets for a further week so that they are fully effective.

 Sooo 7 injections later and a really sore arm I am finally fully vaccinated and ready to go! My bank account may be a little lighter but it’s definitely worth it!

Leave a Reply

